Building Inspection Services

The Building Department performs residential and commercial inspections throughout the county. The County Building Inspector visits buildings while under construction to ensure building code compliance and completed buildings to ensure compliance with fire and building codes.

Georgia has 14 "state minimum standard codes." Each of these separate codes typically consists of a base code and a set of Georgia amendments to the base code. Georgia law dictates that eight of these codes are "mandatory" (are applicable to all construction whether or not they are locally enforced) and two are "permissive" (only applicable if a local government chooses to adopt and enforce one or more of these codes).

Mandatory codes are:

  • Standard Building Code (International Building Code)
  • National Electrical Code
  • Standard Gas Code (International Fuel Gas Code)
  • Standard Mechanical Code (International Mechanical Code)CABO One and Two Family Dwelling Code (International Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings)
  • Georgia State Energy Code for Buildings (International Energy Conservation Code)
  • International Fire Code
  • Standard Plumbing Code (International Plumbing Code)

Permissive Codes:

  • Standard Housing Code (International Property Maintenance Code)
  • Standard Existing Building Code (International Existing Building Code)

The building, electrical, gas, mechanical, plumbing, CABO one-and-two family dwelling, energy and fire codes are mandatory codes, meaning that under Georgia law, any structure built in Georgia must comply with these codes, whether or not the local government chooses to locally enforce these codes. In addition, since Georgia law gives the enumerated codes statewide applicability, local governments do not have to adopt the mandatory codes in order to enforce them. However, the local government can choose which of the mandatory codes it wishes to locally enforce.